The Charleston Council for International Visitors

Small-town charm, big-city chops.

The Charleston Council for International Visitors is a nonprofit, 501(c)(3) organization that develops international professional exchange and citizen diplomacy in South Carolina's Lowcountry. As a community-based member of Global Ties U.S., CCIV proudly supports the U.S. Department of State's International Visitor Leadership Program.

By providing its Charleston-area connections and expertise to U.S. government officials and National Programming Agencies, CCIV works to create powerful cross-cultural exchange and professional development experiences which meet the goals of IVLP stakeholders and support U.S. foreign policy objectives.

make an inquiry


Donald Sparks


Donald Sparks is Emeritus Professor of International Economics at the Citadel in Charleston, South Carolina and University Lecturer in International Business at the Management Center Innsbruck, Austria. Prior to coming to the Citadel Dr Sparks was a staff assistant for Senator Fritz Hollings and later Regional Economist for Africa at the Department of State. He has been a Fulbright Professor at the University of Swaziland and the University of Maribor, in Slovenia, a Fulbright Senior Specialist in Economics at the University of Swaziland and at the African Union Commission's Department of Economic Affairs in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia. He taught at the American University in Cairo for one year, where he also served as department chair. Dr. Sparks serves on the Board of Directors of the Fulbright Association.

Noah Koubenec

Deputy Director

Noah Koubenec is Assistant Director for Fellowships at The Citadel in Charleston, South Carolina. He is coordinator for The Citadel's Project GO grant, which funds intensive Mandarin immersion programs in Taiwan. Noah is a 2013 graduate of the University of Texas at Austin's Lyndon B. Johnson School of Public Affairs and a 2010 Truman Scholar.

Board of Directors

Ms. Elizabeth Alston

Mr. Tom Bradford


Dr. Hollis France

Mr. Vince Graham

Ms. Gervais Hagerty Del Porto


Dr. Carolyn Matalene

Ms. Whitney Powers

Dr. Blake Scott

Mr. Mark Sloan